The 21st Assam State Conference of the Party was held on 15-17 March 2015 at Tezpur town of Sonitpur district. Polit Bureau members Com. Manik Sarkar and Com. S. R. Pillai attended the three-day Conference. Out of the 366 elected delegates and observers, a total of 351 delegates (325 delegates and 26 observers) attended the Conference. There were 295 male delegates and 56 female delegates.

The Conference started with a public meeting held on 15 March 2015 with senior Party leader Hemen Das presiding. More than 6,000 people from different parts of the State participated in the Open Session. The meeting was addressed, among others, by Com. Manik Sarkar, Com. S. R. Pillai, Com. Uddhab Barman (State Secretary and CCM) and Com. Deben Bhattacharyya (CCM).

The Flag was hoisted by Com. Hemen Das at the District Library Campus. Com. Manik Sarkar, Com. S. R. Pillai and others laid floral wreaths at the Martyrs’ Column.

The 21st State Conference was formally inaugurated by PBM Com. S. R. Pillai. In his speech Pillai explained the significance of the Assam Conference and also the broad political line of the party. Com. Pillai stressed the need for expanding the party organization in Assam and building the left and democratic front in the state.


At the beginning of the delegates’ session, a Presidium consisting of Comrades Hemen Das, Deben Bhattacharyya, Fazlur Rahman, Purno Boro and Satyabati Bhuyan was elected. The other state secretariat members were elected to the Steering Committee. The session started with a Condolence Resolution.

Com. Uddhab Barman placed the Draft Political and Organizational Resolutions before the Conference. A total of 57 Comrades, including 4 women, participated in the discussion which continued for over six hours. After discussions and reply by the Secretary, the Political and Organizational Resolutions were adopted unanimously with opposition from only one delegate.

The Conference adopted 20 resolutions, including resolutions on communalism, attacks on the rights of the working class, the problems of peasants and crisis of agriculture, land issue, floods and erosions, problems of tea-tribes and communities, MGNREGA, price-rise and PDS, problems of unemployment, atrocities on women, improvement and expansion of public education, on big dam issue, expansion of railway network, inter-state border disputes, ‘D’ voters’ issue, implementation of Forest Rights Act, against terrorism and extremism, against attack on CPI (M) and the Left in West Bengal, etc. A separate resolution was also adopted to maintain Assam’s status as ‘Special Category State’.

The Conference unanimously elected a new 50-member State Committee, with 11 new inclusions. Four members of the State Committee are women. The New State Committee unanimously elected Com. Deben Bhattacharyya as its Secretary.

Five comrades were elected as Permanent Invitees to the State Committee while three other comrades were elected as Special Invitees. The Conference also elected a 3 (three) Member State Control Commission with Com. Bapu Boro as Chairman.

The Conference elected 16 delegates and two observers to the 21stParty Congress to be held at Visakhapattanam. There are three women comrades in the delegation to the Party Congress.

Com. Manik Sarkar delivered the Concluding Speech of the Conference and made a fervent appeal to expand independent activities of the Party with a view to building up Left and democratic alternative in Assam too.