Press Release

The Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India, Forward Bloc and Revolutionary Socialist Party have issued the following statement:

On Schedule for Assembly Elections

The Election Commission has announced the schedule of the elections to the five state assemblies of West Bengal, Assam, Kerala, Tamilnadu and Pondicherry.

For the first time, West Bengal is to have a five-phase polling process and in Kerala the polling will be in three phases. There is no reason why such an extended polling process is necessary in these two states. Kerala has always had a one-day poll and West Bengal has not had more than a two-phase polling. There has been no satisfactory explanation for this unprecedented decision especially when the Commission has decided on a one-phase polling in Tamilnadu.
The Left Parties are confident that the politically conscious people of West Bengal and Kerala will exercise their right to franchise and effectively participate in the elections on a large-scale.