Organize Bigger Mass Movements in West Bengal

The West Bengal State Committee which met on May 21, 2015 has constituted an 18 member State Secretariat including two permanent Invitee members. New State Secretariat members are:


Biman Basu, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Surjya Kanta Misra, Md. Salim, Madan Ghosh, Shyamal Chakraborty, Mridul De, Goutam Deb, Dipak Dasgupta, Nripen Choudhury, Sridip Bhattacharya, Dipak Sarkar, Rabin Deb, Amiya Patra, Sujan Chakraborty and Minati Ghosh (new). Ashok Bhattacharya and Ramchandra Dom are the two permanent invitees.


In a statement issued to the Press after the conclusion of the meeting of the state Committee State Secretary Surjya Kanta Mishra said that unprecedented terror was perpetrated by the ruling Trinamool Congress during the Municipal Elections. Nevertheless there has been a positive aspect in that there were protests against this violence in many places. The public anger was also reflected in the General Strike on 30th April. The Strike had succeeded with great people’s support’. Party Seneral Secretary Sitaram Yechury and Polit Bureau member Prakash Karat attended the meeting. 


The state committee has decided to organize movements on a big scale centering around the following issues:


(i)    Farmers are not getting proper price of crops;

(ii)    crisis of new employment due to the stalemate in rural developmental projects;

(iii)    price hike of power and petrol prices;

(iv)    general price rise;

(v)    employment crisis with no new industrial projects coming up in the state;

(vi)    Loss of jobs due to closure of factories

Besides these, local issues will also be taken up during the campaign said Surjya Kanta Misra.

Misra also said that regular classes for educating the Party cadre at all levels in the state will be conducted. Besides the political resolutions adopted by the Party Congress and the State conference will be explained to the Party cadre.

In another decision, the State Committee has decided to constitute an Organization of Agricultural Labourers. This is implementing the decision taken in this regard in the State Conference.


Kolkata, 21st may, 2015