August 4, 2017

Press Statement

The Polit Bureau of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) has issued the following statement:

BJP Doublespeak on Kerala

The BJP leadership is indulging in doublespeak regarding the recent clashes between the CPI(M) and BJP-RSS workers in Thiruvananthapuram district in Kerala. The Union Home Minister, Shri Rajnath Singh, had urged the Kerala Chief Minister, Pinarayi Vijayan to take adequate measures to stop the clashes. The Kerala Chief Minister convened a meeting of CPI(M) and BJP-RSS state leaders on July 31 to discuss ways and means to ensure peace and avoid such incidents. The meeting took certain decisions and decided to hold similar meetings in three districts as a follow up. These meetings were also held and they have provided a framework and both sides have committed to see that conflicts are avoided and the police takes action against anyone resorting to violence. An all-parties meeting is also being held on August 6.

It is at such a juncture that the central leadership of the BJP and a Union Minister have raised baseless and partisan allegations against the CPI(M) in Kerala. Bhupendra Yadav, General Secretary of the BJP and Union Minister Smriti Irani, have even questioned the sincerity of the initiative by the Kerala Chief Minister which has yielded results.

So, while the Home Minister adopts one position, another Union Minister and the BJP leadership take a contrary stand. This clearly shows that the BJP-RSS are not keen to see that peace is restored and there are no political clashes.

It should be recalled that the BJP-RSS began their attacks on the CPI(M) the very day election results were announced in May 2016. A CPI(M) worker was killed in Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan’s constituency while participating in a victory procession.

Since the formation of the LDF government, thirteen CPI(M) workers and others have been killed by RSS-BJP men (see list attached). More than 200 Party members and sympathisers have been injured and hospitalized. Over 165 houses and 51 Party offices and many mass organisation offices have also been attacked, set on fire or vandalized.

The game-plan is clear. Resort to provocative actions and uncalled for physical assaults against the CPI(M) workers and raise the cry that the CPI(M) is resorting to violence and blame the Kerala government for not stopping such attacks.

The people of Kerala know very well who is responsible for the political violence, at a time when the LDF government is seriously engaged in implementing the developmental programmes set out in the election manifesto of the Left and Democratic Front. The people of Kerala who continue to maintain the highest level of communal amity and social harmony will surely rise to defeat such efforts at disrupting peace and normalcy in the state.


List of those Killed by RSS-BJP men after
LDF Government came into power

1 C. V. Raveendran,  Pinarayi, Kannur
2 C. V. Dhanraj, Kannur
3 Sasikumar, Thrissur
4 T. Suresh Kumar, Thiruvananthapuram
5 Mohanan, Kannur
6 Anandu, Alappuzha
7 Muhammed Muhazin, Alappuzha
8 G. Jishnu, Alappuzha
9 Shibu, Alappuzha
10 P. Muraleedharan, Malappuram
11 Riyas Moulavi, Kasargode
12 Faizal, Malappuram
13 Suresh (Congress I supporter), Thrissur