Press Release

Committee to Campaign for an Independent Foreign Policy
A National Committee to campaign for an independent foreign policy was constituted today.

It was decided to constitute the committee so that public opinion can be mobilised against the stand that the government of India has taken in voting against Iran in the Board of Governors meeting at the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). The committee decided to campaign that this stand goes against India’s independent foreign policy and it does not serve the national interest.

The committee decided to conduct a countrywide campaign, so that India takes a correct stand at the next meeting of the IAEA Board in November.
The committee constituted consists of representatives the four Left parties, the Samajwadi Party, the Janata Dal (Secular) and prominent personalities drawn from different walks of life. Members of the committee are as follows:
Justice V. R. Krishna Iyer, A. B. Bardhan, Prakash Karat, Ramgopal Yadav, Amar Singh, Debabrata Biswas, Abani Roy, Sitaram Yechury, D. Raja, Kunwar Danish Ali, Surendra Mohan, S. P. Shukla, M. K. Bhadra Kumar and Seema Mustafa.
It was decided to include some more representatives in the committee.

The committee decided to organise a seminar on October 28, 2005 at the Constitution Club, New Delhi to examine various aspects of India’s stand. The seminar will be attended by foreign policy and strategic experts.

The committee will organise a convention on October 29, 2005 in the grounds adjoining the Mavalankar Hall, New Delhi. This convention will be addressed by senior political leaders.