Statement issued to the media by the leaders of CPI and CPI(M) today, March 6th at 5 PM, after the meeting held at the State Committee office of the CPI(M);

Our two parties had decided to enter into a constituency sharing agreement in Tamilnadu with the AIADMK and fight election to defeat the Congress-led and BJP-led alliances. In the several rounds of negotiations carried out for this purpose, an agreement could not be arrived at on account of the approach of the AIADMK. Further, in the context of the AIADMK candidates for all 40 constituencies having been announced and of the AIADMK having started on the election campaign on its own, the CPI and CPI(M) have decided to face the Parliamentary election unitedly.


Signed by D. Pandian, Secretary, CPI and G. Ramakrishnan, Secretary, CPI(M)