The Polit Bureau of the Communist Party of India (Marxist), now in session in New Delhi, hails the victory of the CPI(M) candidate in the bye-election to the Amarpur assembly constituency in Tripura.


The Polit Bureau has congratulated the Tripura State Committee for this victory and thanked the people of Amarpur for reposing their faith in the Party.


The detailed result along with the statement of the Tripura State Secretariat of the Party is attached herewith.


Result of bye-Election to 42-Amarpur Assembly constituency in Tripura were declared today. As expected, Left Front sponsored CPI(M) candidate Comrade Parimal Debnath won the election with the biggest ever margin in this constituency defeating his nearest BJP candidate by more than 10 thousand votes. The Left Front candidate polled more than 60% of the valid votes and the BJP candidate got 28.92% vote. All other candidates in the contest including the Congress have lost their deposits.  The result:


Total Vote in the constituency                                   38,271

Total valid vote                                                             33,740                   88.16% (Polling percentage)


Votes polled by the candidates

Parimal Debnath                             CPI(M)                  20,355                   60.33%  won

Ranjit Das                                            BJP                           9,758                   28.92%

Chanchal Dey                                    INC                           1,231                     3.65%

Pabitra Mohan Jamatia                    IPFT                         1,623                     4.81%

Nakshatra Jamatia                           INPT                           146                      0.43%

Bijoy Das                                             Amara Bangali        149                      0.44%

Ranajoy Jamatia                                 Independent          216                      0.64%

NOTA                                                                                     262                      0.78%


The Tripura State Secretariat of the Party in a statement conveyed warm greetings to the people of this constituency for this landslide victory. The Secretariat also thanked the election staff and officers, security jawans and  officials for free and fair peaceful conduct of the election without any incident.


The margin of the CPI(M) candidate in this  bye-election is bigger by about 6500 than that in the 2013 general Assembly election. This indicates that Left Front’s support base is gradually getting wider through implementation of innumerable development projects by the Left Front Government.  A large section of Congress supporters seemingly voted for BJP, as indicated in this poll result. This nakedly exposed the bankruptcy of the state Congress leadership in carrying on ideological struggle against Hindutva elements, the statement said.