Left Front Sweeps ADC Polls for the Third Consecutive Term


In keeping with the expectations, Left Front recorded a resounding victory in the 7th General Elections of the Tripura Tribal Area Autonomous District Council. In the results declared today, Left Front candidates emerged victorious in all the 28 seats reaffirming its continuation in office for the third consecutive term.  Left Front secured a decisive 54.29% of the total votes polled leaving behind all the other opposition parties.  Out of the 28 seats CPI(M) won in 25 seats while CPI, AIFB and RSP won one seat each.

The polling for the 28 seats of the TTAADC were held on 3rd May , the polling was completely peaceful, with 83.61% of voters casting their votes. The counting on Wednesday started in the morning and from the very beginning the trends made it clear that the people of the ADC area have reposed their faith on the slogan of peace, tranquility, unity of the state and development raised by the Left Front. The first news of victory came from the Birchandranagar-Kalshi seat of South Tripura. Here the LF supported CPI candidate Dhirendra Reang won by a handsome margin of  8422 votes against his nearest IPFT rival.  The  CPI(M) candidate from Kathalia-Mirza-Rajapur Parikshit Murrasingh retained his seat by a huge margin of 13667 votes. As the news of victory of the Left Front candidates spread spontaneous but disciplined victory celebrations started all over the state. Here CPI(M) got 63.21% of the total cast and valid votes. The winner with second highest margin was Santanu Jamatia from the Natunbaazar-Malbasa seat where the LF’s CPI(M)  candidate won by a handsome margin of 12,622 votes. The existing CEM of ADC, CPI(M) state committee member  Ranjit Debbarma retained his Ramchandraghat seat with a margin of  5634 votes. CPI(M) state committee member and ADC Executive member in charge of Education and ICA Radhacharan Debbarma retained his Jirania seat by a margin of  8901 votes.  All the new faces in the Left Front candidate list {all from CPI(M)} won comfortably. In a nutshell, CPI(M) and the Left as a whole got more than 50% votes in 23 of the 28 seats.

IPFT secured second position in 16 seats getting a vote share of 18.09%, INPT came second in 7 seats and BJP secured second spot in 5 seats. The result of Congress was pathetic to say the least. It could not secure even the second position in any of the seats getting merely 5.50% of the votes and losing deposits in 18 seats.  INPT got 10.62% of the votes while BJP made a dent by securing 7.89% votes. TMC got a mere 1.03%.

In press conference convened by the Tripura Left Front Committee CPI(M) Tripura state committee secretary Bijan Dhar congratulated the entire machinery of the state election commission and the security forces for the peaceful conduct of polling and counting and expressed gratitude to the electorate for their judicious mandate in favour of the LF against all the conspiracies. Maintaining that the vote share of the LF has come down by almost 9% compared to the last ADC election, the vote share in the ADC area has however increased slightly compared to the last Assembly election. He said the results must be seen in the perspective of the continuous campaign of falsehood by Congress against the CM, the Left Front government and Left Front, the communal propaganda of BJP and the emotional but vicious, divisive slogan of a separate state by IPFT and the continuous efforts to create a law and order problem capitalizing on the non payment of MNREGA wages primarily caused by the changes of procedure by the central government. He said the mandate is a reflection of the people’s faith in the Left Front’s slogan of peace, unity, tranquility and development.  Bijan Dhar said, the increase in the vote share of BJP and IPFT is a matter of worry not only for the Left but the state and country as a whole we shall have to fight these danger in a unified manner. He was flanked by CPI(M) state committee member Gautam Das, CPI state secretary Ranjit Majumdar, RSP state secretary Sudarshan Bhattacharya and AIFB state secretary Shyamal Roy.