A two member delegation of the CPI(M) consisting of General Secretary Sitaram Yechury and Central Secretariat Member Nilotpal Basu met the Chief Election Commissioner today to draw the attention of the Commission to the extremely disturbing events on the second day of polling to West Bengal Assembly elections.  The text of the memorandum submitted to the Commission is being released herewit

Dear Sir,


We are surprised with the statement and the press conference held by the Deputy Election Commissioner  of the ECI, Shri  Sandeep Saxena.  We had in our communication yesterday and the subsequent meeting brought before you the details of the extremely disturbing events on the second day of polling to West Bengal Assembly elections.  The mainstream media has widely reported on the same which corroborates our contention.  Therefore, the statement that the polling was normal was completely divorced from the actual reality.


What is more disturbing is to legitimize this `normalcy’ by stating that all incidents had taken place outside the polling booths. This is surprising, to say the least. This suggests that the EC is abdicating its Constitution mandate to ensure the conduct of a free and fair poll.  Events outside the polling booths are considered a part of the polling process, when they adversely affect free and fair polling.  Now, it appears that there is a major reversal of the EC’s earlier position.  Importantly, such a position would completely nullify the prerequisite for route marches by Central Police Forces for confidence building and area domination as a deterrent to miscreants who are out to disrupt and usurp the democratic rights of the people. 


Therefore, we urge the Commission to take all possible necessary steps for discharging its  Constitution mandated responsibility of holding free and fair polls in the remaining five phases covering 245 Assembly Constituencies.


With regards,


Thanking you,



(Sitaram Yechury)                                                             (Nilotpal Basu)

General Secretary                                                                Member, Central Secretariat