Press Statement

Support December 8 Bharat Bandh

We the undersigned leaders of political parties extend our solidarity with the ongoing massive struggle by the Indian farmers organised by various kisan organisations from across the country and extend our support to their call for a Bharat bandh on December 8 demanding the withdrawal of these retrograde Agri-laws and the Electricity Amendment Bill.

These new Agri-Laws passed in the Parliament in a brazen anti-democratic manner preventing a structured discussion and voting, threaten India’s food security, destroy Indian agriculture and our farmers, lay the basis for the abolishment of the Minimum Support Price (MSP) and mortgage Indian agriculture and our markets to the caprices of multi-national agri-business corporates and domestic corporates.

The central government must adhere to the democratic processes and norms and meet the legitimate demands of our Kisans-Annadatas.

Sonia Gandhi

M K Stalin

(President, INC)

(President, DMK)

Sharad Pawar

Tejaswi Yadav

(President, NCP)

(Leader, RJD)

Farooq Abdullah

Akhilesh Yadav

(Chairman, PAGD)

(President, SP)

Sitaram Yechury

D. Raja

(General Secretary, CPI(M)

(General Secretary, CPI)

Dipankar Bhattacharya

Debabrata Biswas

(General Secretary, CPI(ML)

(General Secretary, AIFB)

Manoj Bhattacharya


(General Secretary, RSP)


(Released from the CPI(M) Office)