Solar Scam: LDF Intensifies Agitation
The CPI(M) led-LDF in Kerala has intensified its agitation demanding Chief Minister Oommen Chandy’s  resignation in the wake of the solar scam in which several investors have been defrauded of nearly Rs. 40000 crores on the promise of providing solar panels at subsidised rates.
 MPs, MLAs and senior leaders of the LDF and its activists held a day and night Dharna (sit-in) in front of the state secretariat on July 22, demanding a judicial probe into the scam and the resignation of the Chief Minister.
Demonstations and dharnas are being held every day in the headquarters of all the fourteen districts, in which, on an average, more than 20,000 people are participating.
Pinarayi Vijayan Addressing the DharnaThe LDF’s campaign for the resignation of Chief Minister has been bolstered by strictures passed by two benches of  the Kerala High Court on July 22. While one court sought to know where the money collected in the solar scam had gone and whether the victims would get it back, another court observed whether an inquiry was not required to find out if the cheating had taken place with the knowledge of the Chief Minister and whether the government was trying to hide anything. CPI(M) state secretary, Pinarayi Vijayan said that the critical observations made against  Chandy by two benches on the same day are serious and rare and demanded that the  Chief Minister should resign forthwith.  Leader of the opposition V.S.Achuthanandan said it is a shame that Chandy was not resigning despite sharp criticism from the High Court.
The private secretary of the Chief Minister has already been arrested for alleged links with the solar scam accused. The Chief Minister has refused to divulge any information on his closed door meeting with the prime accused, Biju Radhakrishnan, and to provide footage of  Saritha’s meeting in his office.
Those who took part in the sit-in included CPI(M) State Secretary Pinarayi Vijayan, Polit Bureau Member Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, opposition leader V.S. Achuthanandan, LDF convenor Vaikom Vishwan besides several members of the CPI(M) Central Committee and State Committee. Prominent leaders amongst the other LDF constituents were CPI state secretary Panniyan Raveendran, JD(S) leader C.K Nanu, RSP leader N.K.Premachandaran, NCP leader N.K.Sasindaran  and Congress (S) leader K Ramachandran.
July 25, 2013